Skip to main content

Palms works closely with local law enforcement if there is an incident in our neighborhood.

Safety is always the #1 priority at Palms.

Safety Drills

first aid kit

The safety of our students is our top priority. Following LAUSD policies, Palms holds four or five types of safety drills throughout the school year, two or three each month:

  • Drop/Take Cover Drill: Students practice safety measures to prevent harm during an earthquake. Students protect their heads, take cover under desks and tables, and move away from windows and glass.
  • Fire Drill: Students learn to evacuate classrooms safely in the event of a fire.
  • Lock Down Drill: Students move to the safety of a classroom or closest building when there is imminent danger either on campus or in the neighborhood, such as from a loose animal, community incident, or police action.
  • Shelter in Place Drill: Similar to a Lock Down Dril. Used when there is an environmental threat, such as a chemical spill, fire, or insect swarm in the area.
  • Shake Out Drill: Students evacuate to the P.E. field during the annual Big Shakeout Drill. In the event of an actual earthquake or on-site emergency, parents will pick up students on the P.E. field.

These types of emergencies are unlikely to occur but Palms is determined to be prepared!

2018-2019 Safety Drill Schedule
Safety Drills
Date Drill Period
Wed Aug 15, 2018 Fire Drill 2
Thu Aug 23, 2018 Drop/Cover Drill 3
Wed Sep 5, 2018 Lock Down Drill 2
Tue Sep 18, 2018 Fire Drill 1
Tue Sep 25, 2018 Drop/Cover Drill 3
Fri Oct 12, 2018 Drop/Cover Drill 4
Thu Oct 18, 2018 Shake Out Drill 3-4
Thu Oct 25, 2018 Drop/Cover Drill 5
Thu Nov 8, 2018 Fire Drill 5
Fri Nov 16, 2018 Lock Down Drill 1
The Nov 29, 2018 Drop/Cover Drill 5
Mon Dec 3, 2018 Fire Drill 6
Thu Dec 13, 2018 Drop/Cover Drill 2
Thu Jan 10, 2019 Fire Drill 2
Thu Jan 24, 2019 Drop/Cover Drill 2
Mon Jan 28, 2019 Lock Down Drill 6
Wed Feb 6, 2019 Fire Drill 5
Thu Feb 21, 2019 Drop/Cover Drill 3
Fri Mar 1, 2019 Lock Down Drill 4
Fri Mar 8, 2019 Fire Drill 2
Thu Mar 14, 2019 Spring Drill 3
Fri Apr 5, 2019 Lock Down Drill 2
Wed Apr 10, 2019 Fire Drill 6
Wed Apr 24, 2019 Drop/Cover Drill 2
Mon May 6, 2019 Drop/Cover Drill 4
Thu May 23, 2018 Fire Drill 2