Palms Middle School

Be sure to read the Attendance Policy notice in your Orientation Packet.

Attendance and Absences

The following rules are to allow all students the opportunity to grow academically without disruption.

  • Arrive to school on time everyday.
  • Arrive to each and every class on time.

Students are not permitted to leave class except for medical emergencies, office summonses, or behavioral referrals. Passing periods, nutrition/break, and lunch are to be used to take care of personal needs.

Every effort should be made to be in school for a full day every day.

When Your Child is Absent

  • You do not need to phone the school on a day your child is absent.
  • Upon your child’s return from an absence a note must be submitted by the child's parent or guardian, a medical doctor, a health care agency, or the school nurse.
  • Notes must include the student's name, dates and reasons of absence, and signature.
  • Students should take the note to the Student Services Office when they arrive at school after an absence, early enough that they will still be in their classroom by 8:00am.
  • If your child’s absence is not cleared within 10 school days it will be marked as truancy and may lead to truancy status.

When your Child Has an Appointment

  • Try to schedule all appointments for your child after school, on weekend days, or during your child’s vacation.
  • If the appointment must be during school hours please have your child attend school prior to the appointment and/or return to school after the appointment to complete the school day.
  • If students need to leave school early, please plan to pick-up the student before or after their P.E. class in order to avoid delays.
  • Call the school to let them know your child will be absent and why.

September is Attendance Awareness Month

Attendance
Read about the importance of attendance at the Attendance Works website.

California Attendance Rules

Education is a partnership between parents and the school. We will work with you to address issues or concerns which may be preventing your child from attending school regularly.

By law, education is a parental responsibility. According to the California Education Code:

Each person between the ages of 6 to18 years not exempted is subject to compulsory full-time education. Students who are absent from school without valid excuse on three occasions or tardy for more than 30 minutes in a school day on three occasions in one school year are truant and will be reported to the attendance supervisor or the superintendent of the school district.

The consequences can be severe if you fail to comply with the Education Code:

  • You may be referred to the School Attendance Review Team (SART) and/or School Attendance Review Board (SARB).
  • Your case may be referred to the District or City Attorney.
  • Cal Works or TANF may reduce your monthly allowance per child.
  • You may be fined up to $2,500 per child.